jump to navigation

Did that offend you? January 5, 2015

Posted by Sharath Rao in Uncategorized.
trackback

If I say something that you disagree with, did that offend?

What if I did not say it to you but to someone else, did that offend you?

What if I did not say it but only thought it, did that offend too?

What if I thought it but only in my dream, surely that did not offend?

What if I thought it in my dream and then I recount it to you but then disown my dream, who has offended you?

What if you overhear me say something to X, really, did that offend too?

What if X is not offended, is that doubly offensive?

What if I’m offended that you are offended, is that retributive offense?

And if I’m NOT offended that you are offended, is that crossing the line now?

I think when instead of standing up for your beliefs, you go out of the way to not offend others’ beliefs, you implicitly give them permission to go out of the way to take offence at the frivolous. Its like telling them: “since I tried hard not to offend you, everyone else should do and if they do not, you have the right to take offence”.

Comments»

1. Achala - January 12, 2015

This is kinda poetic. 🙂
In light of recent instances of people getting ‘offended’ at the drop of a hat, this is very good food for thought. Unfortunately, the ones who get offended really easily, rarely stop to think.

2. mychoiceboutique - January 3, 2017

nice read and enjoyed it..
http://www.mychoiceboutique.com


Leave a Reply

