jump to navigation

If you wake up mid-sleep do you want to know the time? October 17, 2013

Posted by Sharath Rao in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

Lets assume you  set up the alarm for a certain time every morning. Now if you happen to wake up in the middle of the night, do you, before you return to sleep, look for the clock? I know people who do. I don’t. I used to but I don’t anymore. 

I find that to me it has no upside and only a downside. If I have set the alarm for 7 am and I happen to be up at maybe 6:15, knowing that I have another 45 mins to sleep does me no good and simply ensures that I can’t go back to sleep. In fact, I may be tempted to not go back to bed if I know I only have 45 mins to go and thus give myself no chance at all. I therefore make a conscious attempt to not know the time, which means not even look towards the window. If, on the other hand I woke up at 2, knowing that I have 5 more hours to go does not necessarily help me sleep better either. I know people for whom this is supposedly an upside but it isn’t for me.

Of course, its a different story if the alarm is not reliable – perhaps then you can be more vigilant sleeping with only 45 mins to go. But that has better solutions including finding yourself a better alarm.

In a culture where keeping track of one’s progress and executing on one’s goals is prized, not knowing how much progress I have made through my (sleeping) goals gives me a better chance at achieving them.

Ignorance, for once, is indeed bliss.

 

Comments»

1. hpsarathy - October 18, 2013

When you have the luxury of reaching work late morning, this would seem a nuisance. But when you have to reach at 7 am for which you need to wake up at 6 am, the knowledge that you have 50 more minutes to sleep is, quite frankly, precious. That, and you ought to be gifted enough to fall asleep the moment the eyelids close.


Leave a Reply

