jump to navigation

Skeletons, Cupboards and the re-morse code December 30, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in people, reminisces-1990s.
trackback

Kinda funny sentence today from Alan Greenspan’s recent book which I found surprisingly un-putdownable :

I remember where I was on the day the Japanese attacked the Pearl Harbor: in my room practicising the clarinet. I turned on the radio and there was the announcement. I didn’t know where the Pearl harbor was – nobody did. I didn’t immediately think, Oh, we’re going to war. Instead, I hoped the calamity would just go away. When you’re a fifteen year old, you blank out a lot of things. You just focus on what you’re doing.

Greenspan also mentions his adolescent fascination for the morse code, which brought back in a flash long forgotten memories from over a decade ago.

The only time I ever maintained a diary of personal reflections was for a short period in the mid-90s. And in order to make the contents almost inaccessible to anyone who lays a quick hand on it, the entire diary was written in morse code !! To give you a sample, here is what it would have looked like – commas that separated letters and forward slash separating the words ( and two forward slashes between consecutive sentences )

// . , . _ _ . , . . , . . . , _ , . _ . . , _ , . . . / . . _ . , _ _ _ , . _ . / _ , . . . . , . / . _ . . , _ _ _ , . . . _ , . / _ _ _ , . . _ . / . _ . . , . , _ , _ , . , . _ . , . . . //

( “Epistles – For the love of letters ” )

Now imagine 109 pages of this šŸ˜€ .

Thinking back it was rather crazy, maybe the craziest thing I ever did. No, actually what was even more crazy of me was to destroy that diary in a fit of desperation – too many skeletons of too many people in one cupboard it was. Looking back though, it remains one of my bigger regrets.

I realize I have forgotten some of the confusing and infrequent letters like J and B, but am otherwise quite okay. But the memory refresh that followed looking at this, I am almost ready to start another one, save for the absence of skeletons and abundance of cupboards šŸ˜‰

Comments»

1. B - December 30, 2007

I think it would be easier to write morse code in the Hot Shots 2 format (Dah di di dah dah di dah)

2. Sharath Rao - December 31, 2007

Yeah true, I came to know of this much later.

But actually I wonder if reading the above format is slower ( or if I am just used to reading the dots/dashes)

3. rambhai - January 17, 2008

well astually that not a funny sentence a small kid will always think the way greenspan thought~~~hoe can you read 109 pages made of commas and slashes


Leave a Reply

