jump to navigation

A wasteful Orkut exercise December 5, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in numbers-in-my-life.
trackback

For over an year now, my “upcoming birthdays” section of the Orkut page was disabled. I just enabled this feature only to pander to my curiosity to see if there is any day in the year which does not happen to be the birthday of someone I know 😀 .

As of now, here is what it looks like.

6/12 – 1

7/12 – 2

8/12 – 1

9/12 – 1

10/12 – 0

11/12 – 3

12/12 – 1

13/12 – 5

14/12 -2

15/12 – 2

16/12 – 2

17/12 – 2

Whats this about Dec 13th ? I need to find someone born on Dec 10th 😀

Of course, like all survey methodologies, the assumption here is that people have indeed chosen to make their birthdays public. This assumption does not always hold and I know this because I happen to be one of the violators.

As infinitely easier way to settle this question within an hour rather than an year in the current format is to automatically download profiles and parse out the data. Well, easier it would be but downloading profiles automatically is tricky.

Comments»

1. Randomizer - December 6, 2007

Hey, considering you have about 739 friends, which is roughly = 365 x 2 , It is really neat to see that there are 2 birthdays on each day even in the small sampling of two weeks in December. In my personal observation, I seem to think that more kids are born in the latter half of the year (esp Sep-Dec) than before …. so it would’ve been interesting to see the stats for the year, though I know it’s too much effort. I think that this has something to do with the eligibility for admission into kindergarten.

2. Birthday distribution « Epistles - December 7, 2007

[…] December 7, 2007 Posted by Sharath Rao in numbers-in-my-life. trackback therandomizer in a comment on my earlier post: In my personal observation, I seem to think that more kids are born in the latter half of the year […]

3. Are birthdays evenly distributed across the year? « Realm Of Randomness - December 7, 2007

[…] across the year? Filed under: General — Randomizer @ 12:46 am It started off as a wasteful exercise by Sharath, where he tracked birthdays for two weeks on Orkut just to see if he knew at least one […]


Leave a Reply

