jump to navigation

More sentences for thought December 2, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in humor, politics.
trackback

From Ian Mcewan, a British Novelist :

Atheists have as much conscience, possibly more, than people with deep religious conviction, and they still have the same problem of how they reconcile themselves to a bad deed in the past. It’s a little easier if you’ve got a god to forgive you.

That sentence later, I will be be okay even if I encounter absolutely no written irony/sarcasm for the rest of the week. 🙂 .

Come to think of it, who has died of lack of everyday irony.

By the way, if you did not know Deborah Soloman’s interviews in the NYTimes are different – kinda like the newspaper’s version of the Tim Sebastian’s Hard Talk. I linked to an interview with her before.

~~~

From Vir Sanghvi

The truth, of course, is that only in India do we make a bizarre association between Communism, a totalitarian ideology that has little respect for human rights and whose leading lights have murdered millions of people, and liberal freedoms. But because the Left has rushed in to occupy this space, it is judged on different standards from other political parties. And so, the liberal outrage is greater when Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee behaves in a manner that we might expect from, say, Murli Manohar Joshi.

 ~~~

One (and perhaps the only) brand of “feminist writing” a feminist of my brand likes – when a peeved lady writes an article, much in jest, on feeling discriminated against and eventually concludes :

I have invested an embarrassingly large fraction of my income on my wardrobe and consider it a valuable asset (or I should, considering it is worth more than my 401(k)).

I chose my dry cleaner because of the quality of their service and quick turn-around. The family that owns the cleaner have also become a surrogate mother to me: sewing on stray buttons, lecturing me on the poor care I take of my clothes, and telling me what pieces are more flattering than others. The state of my wardrobe has become so dependent on my cleaner they have a monopoly power over me. I even felt guilty questioning their pricing policy. Apparently, they have no such power over their male customers so I will continue to be exploited.

What comparable stereotype would you associate with men –  who is most likely to become a surrogate mother/father to a man ?

Comments»

1. Vishnu - December 3, 2007

A benevolent mess worker coming to the aid of graduate students struggling with his research, who gives an advice here and there about a delicious dish that missed our attention. Who eggs on the student to eat one more paratha sensing the student is skipping his lunch or dinner due to the burden of academics. Like the late Mr. Lakshman Nyari of IISc as mentioned in this post http://nanopolitan.blogspot.com/2007/10/lakshman-nyari.html

2. Sharath Rao - December 3, 2007

How about teachers from school ?


Leave a Reply

