jump to navigation

Tricky bets November 10, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in CMU, ideas.
trackback

Somebody stole my idea again πŸ˜€ .

In fact, some of his Yale colleagues are in the final stages of launching a business based on this very concept. They have started a company called stickK.com that will allow people to take out a contract on themselves. They pick a price. If they don’t lose a certain amount of weight, they lose the money, either to a charity, friends or family.

The ‘friends’, in my case is my CMU colleague Sanjika. I have a bet with him that if I don’t return to my pre-Jan 2006 levels by XX, I pay for his March 2008 trip to California (from Pittsburgh). The XX is something I choose really – I can say December so that tickets for March 08 will be cheap, but that gives me less time to lose weight. Or of course I can wait up to February before ‘giving up’ – that gives me more time to lose weight, but if I don’t, I pay a far more steep price on the airfare. And of course, if I do make it to my pre-Jan 2006 levels, Sanjika doesn’t give me nothing – after all I am already getting a healthier body !!
So the problem is not just of becoming healthier, but even deciding if and when I arrive at a point where I don’t think I can make it. I like problems like this – its so much like you deciding to get from place A to B the fastest. You see a shuttle bus arriving, but you know that there is a faster bus coming ‘sometime’ in the next 15 minutes. Its a 10 minute journey. Should you wait for the next bus or take this one ? We faced this every now and then waiting to get to school back in 1991-92. An a few years ago going from from Mangalore to Suratkal.

Actually, I hate problems like that πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. Randomizer - November 11, 2007

I think I could help you try and win that bet – maybe a post in the coming weeks… I lost around 17 kgs in 2007 πŸ˜› … stuff like this is really possible if you are dedicated, and with the added incentive of a costly air ticket, I’m sure it will be no problem to keep yourself motivated !

2. Sanjika - November 12, 2007

Good that you reminded me! How is your progress? πŸ˜‰

3. Sharath Rao - November 13, 2007

@randomizer – 17 kgs !! u owe the world an explanation would be a mild way to put it πŸ˜€

@sanjika : As i said, keeping fingers crossed now πŸ™‚

4. Randomizer - November 15, 2007

Yup, a post on that soon ! πŸ™‚ In the meanwhile, I’ve been losing more than just weight it seems :(… more on my latest post.


Leave a Reply

