jump to navigation

“How to lose friends and alienate people” June 1, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in humor, littlerockers.
trackback

There is ofcourse an entire book with the above title which I bought about 8 months back. The book is about the NYC page 3 scene (maybe thats why I did not read beyond page 2 😉 ). Sorry, bad joke.

But anyway, I may be can just add another chapter to that book. For recently when a friend wrote in and then after 3-4 days wrote in again asking me whether I don’t believe in replying to emails, I wrote back saying this :

uh..oh…the problem is that if i dont reply to ur message as soon as i see it ( like i am doing now ), i tend to forget that it is my turn to get back to you and keep wondering why u dont reply to my messages until ofcourse you write in asking why I am not replying, in which case I kick myself for getting it all wrong and reply asap ( like i am doing now ).

do you have the same problem ?

Actually coming to think of it, I find this explanation rather convincing. ( except I am the only whose opinion here does not matter 😦 )

Comments»

1. Achala - June 2, 2007

You’re not alone.

Something I wrote to a friend not too long ago:
[i]…The speed at which I replied so far was the exception rather than the norm. If I don’t hit reply and write back immediately after receiving the mail, then it takes days, sometimes weeks for me to get around to replying…[/i]

Not that I forget. But once the urgency is lost, procrastination takes over. Fortunately, the people who write to me are equally tardy (actually, more), so it all works out fine. 🙂

2. Sharath Rao - June 3, 2007

…guilt, guilt .. 🙂

3. prakash - June 3, 2007

the simplest reason I can think of is …man i was busy so much work ..its become a busy world with no time ..hahah.. I get the same answer so even I have started using it 🙂

4. Rajaram - June 3, 2007

Achala,

Those lines seemed a little familiar. The tardy people( or the person) got the message 😉

You’ll here soon enuf

5. Sharath Rao - June 3, 2007

Prakash : how about trying this for a change – “i have a lot of free time, but just did not want to disturb you “

6. prakash - June 3, 2007

ya true ..different ways of lying …since the second one also cant be true…:-)

7. Sharath Rao - June 3, 2007

@prakash : Oh …so would you rather say – “i have a lot of free time, but it was not worth wasting it on you ??” 😀

8. goofysaint - June 6, 2007

i kinda like the idea…may be i will use it next time i have this problem (which happens quite often, actually) 😀

hope you don’t patent concerns…do you????

9. Sharath Rao - June 7, 2007

no patents, well, certainly don’t intend to sue a saint 🙂


Leave a Reply

