jump to navigation

Wanted May 27, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in media, rant, science.
trackback

1. A website where I can enter the names of any two species ( plant/animal ) and get the ‘evolutionary distance’ between them. I am not sure ( given my unfortunate historic dislike of biology), how you choose to measure that – overlap in genetic sequence or something else.

Inspiration : I was eating a strawberry and found its rather too similar to pineapple in terms of the soury-sweet taste, texture of the skin and the little bit of leaf-like growth at the top. So maybe they are closer to reach other than say apples and grapes.

Or maybe I am entirely wrong and using this blog to make a fool of myself.

~~~

2. The Shashi Tharoor column replaced by another that deals with, at least once every 2 columns, fresh ideas rather than those that have been beaten to death by other columnists or that which is public knowledge. I can hardly recall one time that his article made me think real hardΒ  or think new thoughts. As an example of an columnist who does, Ramachandra Guha who writes during the same week in the same paper is a great example.

( Ofcourse, Deepak seeks to remind his readers that I don’t take to Mr. Tharoor’s columns too well. That’s why. )

Comments»

1. Randomizer - May 27, 2007

No such thing as evolutionary distance. Strawberries and Pineapples taste alike because God intended them that way. And that is all.

πŸ˜‰

2. Sharath Rao - May 27, 2007

Oh damn !! that never occurred to me..such a dud am I πŸ˜‰

3. Deepak Krishnan - May 31, 2007

if u found the texture of the skin on a strawberry and a pineapple the same, time for u to attain SODA-BUDDA status πŸ˜› (unless u already have a pair of specs)

4. Sharath Rao - June 1, 2007

granularity DK !! thats wat matters …afterall imagine – from a distance of 10 km, you, I and a giraffe look the same to the naked eye πŸ˜‰

5. Assorted links now « Epistles - October 28, 2007

[…] not in a minority. From my post of May 27th, 07 where I drew up a little wish-list under the title “Wanted”. The Shashi Tharoor column replaced by another that deals with, at least once every 2 columns, […]


Leave a comment