jump to navigation

Incredible lifestyles May 21, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in America, india, life, weird.
trackback

Ram Charan, one of those incredible people I had never heard of.

Consider the itinerary he sketched at dinner one night a few months ago in New York. He had just agreed – for the first time in his career -to let a journalist travel with him and watch him work. “I should tell you where I’ve been the last few weeks,” he began in heavily accented English. “I go to India on the Friday of the week before Thanksgiving. I am Sunday morning in Bombay. Monday morning I am in Delhi. Wednesday I’m in Bombay. Thursday I’m in Bangalore. Saturday I’m in Trivandrum. Wednesday I’m in Johannesburg. Friday morning, at seven, I am in New York. I have a two-hour meeting with a CEO who has flown in to see me. I have two more meetings and I fly out that night to Dubai. I am in Dubai on Sunday and Monday, then I come back here. On Thursday night I fly out to Jubail, Saudi Arabia. Then I come back here. Tuesday morning I have a whole-day schedule in New York. Tuesday night I go to Milwaukee. I came from Milwaukee last night. They diverted my plane so I had to stay in Pittsburgh. I had a meeting this morning in Philadelphia. I had three meetings here in the afternoon. And I’m here tomorrow, with GE. Then an hour-and-a-half phone call. Then I’m going out tomorrow night to West Palm Beach. Monday morning I have a breakfast meeting in New York. And then I’m flying out to Perth, Australia.” At least he flies first-class.

Do read the entire article about other aspects of his life style ( he does not have a house/permanent address for example ).

Do I aspire for that kind of a lifestyle ? Will I enjoy that kind of a lifestyle ? Ofcourse, the answers both questions better be the same (both yes or both no), and in my case, that will be no. But yes, I certainly greatly admire special people like him. Our planet is such an interesting place. šŸ˜‰

Comments»

1. Abhinav - May 21, 2007

I will die of Jet Lag if I lived so much as a month like Mr. Ram Charan. I think I saw him on CNN or CNBC a few days ago. What a strange coincidence you mentioned him.

So what does he do as a consultant? My teenage self fails to comprehend.

2. Sharath Rao - May 21, 2007

Consultant…I dont know either. I think its one of those things like being a mother, read what you may, hear all you can, but you don’t know what its like unless you become one…….and some people are just not born to be one šŸ˜‰

3. Vineeta - May 21, 2007

@Abhinav: Management consultants like Ram Charan help companies in formulating strategies for their long term growth, restructuring and also help them to make their processes more efficient and cost effective, be it in logistics, IT or human resources. They do like to use the corporate jargon that they are “creating and capturing value for companies”.

So for instance, since you watch CNBC, you must be aware that Citigroup is axing a lot of jobs in NY, London and Singapore and moving about 15,000 jobs to India. So in this case management consultants would have advised Citigroup on how to restructure their business, where to reduce costs and make more savings,etc so that it is beneficial for the bank as well as the shareholders in the long run.

Ram Charan is a one-man show, but most strategy projects tend to be team-oriented with a lead consultant and lots of analysts on the side doing all the analysis and presentations. And yes, it does involve living out of your suitcase for weeks, but not on the scale of RC.

McKinsey and Boston Consulting Group are supposedly the world’s best management consulting firms and their websites are probably good sources of information!

4. Sharath Rao - May 21, 2007

Vineeta, chose a rather apt opportunity to record ur first comment uuh šŸ™‚ …thanks

5. Abhinav - May 22, 2007

@Sharath

Excellent analogy:)

@Vineeta

Wow. So these consultants are devil incarnates, in a way. Uber cool. & I think it’s not Citigroup anymore. It’s just Citi. Lol. Makes them sound cute. I bet that was RC’s idea as well.


Leave a Reply

