jump to navigation

Blog search issues April 22, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in blogging, technology.
trackback

There is something wrong with the idea of blogging the way its done now. And I am not talking about the media itself, but this linear style which somehow does not make it amenable to quick search/retrieval. I am having a hard time trying to retrieve a previous post I penned myself. And that with merely 500 odd posts over the past 14 months. Shudder to imagine how things will be down the years ( even if blog at one-fourth the rate that I do now). Even the presence of tags do not seem to help already.

The problem is perhaps with me – I think I am a good searcher. It takes me very little time to conduct normal searches on Google to get information I need. Even getting that one page I saw a few months back is relatively easier than searching for stuff on my own blog. The problem is the way we are organizing information. Actually, this medium will see lot of change simply because there is so much that can be done offline. A blog grows at a fraction of a pace of the entire web as a whole and so much of info-organizing can be done at each blog level. I don’t know what I am getting at, but something seriously is wrong with blog search if we are treating blogs like just another web page while we index it.

Maybe another day when my mind is clearer I will write more on this.

Comments»

1. ravi - April 23, 2007

Try using http://www.dekoh.com

Should resolve somethings better.

Connects the desktop to the web. Its our company’s product 😛

Cheers.

2. Sharath Rao - April 24, 2007

Aah, no wonder…this is the second time you mentioned this….now i know why 🙂 …will give it a shot one of these days….


Leave a Reply

