jump to navigation

9 million adjectives here February 23, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in humor, life.
trackback

Apparently folks over at this blog are depressed (??) that even after 76000 odd visitors, hardly any women comment on their posts 🙂 . And they go ahead and explain why. In the process they quote what I think is the most number of adjectives per square feet I have seen in a long time.

The masculine cognitive style is abstract, theoretical, disembodied, emotionally detached, analytical, deductive, quantitative, atomistic, and oriented toward values of control or domination. The feminine cognitive style is concrete, practical, embodied, emotionally engaged, synthetic, intuitive, qualitative, relational, and oriented toward values of care.

I guess I have no choice but to agree, by and large, with some reservations. In fact, I realized this (again) when I looked at the first sentence of this article – quantitative description of qualitative attributes. Actually, I went ahead and calculated it for its entertainment value – its approximately 558 adjectives per sq. feet. 😀

But I must add that they forgot to mention that these are average attributes, although I am sure it is to be understood even so it is not mentioned.

Thats linked from here. Title of my post inspired by this post here.

Comments»

1. Ashwini - February 23, 2007

With “explanations” like that…who requires a comment?


Leave a Reply

