jump to navigation

Self-experimentation February 20, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in humor, ideas, littlerockers, reminisces-1990s, weird.
trackback

Now this is interesting – self-experimentation stuff. More commendable than my own gimmicks πŸ™‚ about life sans google.

Anyway, this is the deal :

John D. Freyer decided to sell everything he owns — yes everything — on ebay. Stage two is to visit those objects in people’s homes around the country and record their tales. Stage three is to publish this book.

I will not tell you where I read this because I promised not to link to economics blogs ! πŸ˜€ On the other hand, I will do so in the interest of providing intellectual stimulation to my readers. Here you go – read the whole post. This man is the pioneer of self-experimentation.

Reminds me of my earliest experience of having deprived myself of something – sort of self-experimentation. Apparently, I used to be so talkative about 11 years ago that my friend Dr. Shaimaa Munir ( I want to link to her on Orkut, but I can’t – you know why ) placed a bet on Aug 25th, 1996 that I can’t go without 2 minutes of keeping my mouth shut. More than accepting the challenge, I offered to do so for one whole day in class, i.e. inside the classroom.

The terms were that I can only shout out my attendance – once in the morning and then in the afternoon. Within the classroom, I should not even speak out to tell people why I was not supposed to talk. No, I was not even supposed to write or convey in any way that this was a bet. Ofcourse she could not monitor me all the time or even half the time, but we were reasonable and had an understanding that I would be honest. We exchanged several glances – mostly her effort to tease me about my sorry state etc. But it turned out I managed to do keep my mouth shut and didn’t lose the bet. Now, I don’t remember what the bet was about – i.e. if I got something for the immense sacrifice. I am not sure though if my classmates remember this event – another indication that I wasn’t as talkative in the first place. ( as some of you are given to think I was ).

A balancing act is in order – time for a failed mission to temper the above :

In Class XI, late 1997, my classmate Supreeth and I decided that for one whole day, we would exchange our names !! I would respond if someone called him out and vice-versa. The idea was not just to get ourselves used to each others’ names but also to get others to address us by our new names. The exception again was the when the teacher is involved. Yeah, I know this is chickening out but it added an extra layer of complexity to the whole thing. The person who blinked first lost the bet.

This didnt last any more than an hour. We agreed to call it off. I dont know if he remembers it, but he is coming over this weekend and I am going to have a discussion of this on our agenda :-).

[ And may I ask what is one of weird things you did πŸ˜€ ]

Comments»

1. manjunath - February 22, 2007

I remeber,.. we did something similar in first year hostel.
We had stopped talking to each other inside the room (no 54).

2. raosharath - February 22, 2007

Hey man…yeah remember that…Sumanth and I used to go outside the room to talk to you and paranjape … LOL .. rest of the wing had no idea wat was happening … πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

