jump to navigation

Living sans Google February 17, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in technology, weird.
trackback

My computer is (nearly) google-free for the next 1 month.

I went a step ahead from my last post and am trying to see what life without google is like. So everything gone – talk, accelerator, notebook, reader, toolbar, picasa. Gmail is forwarded to non-google accounts. ( It still means I use them but I have never used gmail extensively anyway). I have substitutes for most of them. The one big problem though is orkut and such applications where the ties are stronger due to the very nature of the service. If I have to try out the really google free world, I would have to convince others to do so. The same goes for the fact that I have honor/read/reply to mails that come to my yahoo account from (others’ ) gmail accounts. So am I making an exception for Orkut ? No, I am not. Check my orkut profile. Youtube is another difficult thing.

That apart, how do I really measure my discomfort, if any, of living in the google-free universe ? Blood pressure perhaps. That an expensive affair. Alternative suggestions welcome. Meanwhile, at different stages in the next month, if and when I find something compelling to return to google services, I will make a note on the blog.

Coming to the question of why. This is experiment I would love to ( and have attempted with different levels of success failure ) do with pretty much anything – depriving myself of certain phone calls and conversations, food items etc. It is not a principled stand against google – my substitutes are not necessarily from MS or Yahoo. And finally, it is certainly not done to please a certain non-existent divine superpower nor any existent superpower ๐Ÿ™‚

I only hope google, in an apparent personal battle over this blogger, desists from taking Microsoft, Yahoo and Wikipedia in the next oneย  month.ย  I will be left with linux and my Carnegie mellon email account then.

As I say in my orkut profile :

In an arguably misguided attempt to experiment living in a google-free world for the next 1 month, I am out of Orkut.

Comments»

1. Prakash Rao - February 17, 2007

boss !! what have u done … i would like u to also do the same thing with microsoft man ๐Ÿ™‚

2. raosharath - February 17, 2007

Welcome Prakash – first time … infact you should kick a utensil full of rice when you come enter the blog for the first time ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyway, without MS would be easier – and thousands world over do that ……but I would have to overhaul my machine and remove XP ….Wont take that risk in the middle of my semester :).

3. Ashwini - February 18, 2007

Here’s a way [or two] to measure :
1.Record your weight now……then every time you think “shit !what was I thinking” or something along similar lines,get up from your chair & take a 10 min. walk [or alternatively,eat some chocolate].then at the end of your ahem “experiment”…..re-record ur weight,now the total fall [if u walk] or gain [if u eat] will be directly proportional to your discomfort [or lack of it]…….or………..
2. Buy a B.P apparatus :d

4. Achala - February 18, 2007

All I can say is: Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚ Will be following the experiment with great interest.

5. raosharath - February 18, 2007

When the pressure to fail is so great and I have nothing to lose, I might as well succeed…but be it a Pyrrhic victory I guess…

6. raosharath - February 18, 2007
7. Deepak Krishnan - February 18, 2007

your experiment is doomed to failure like the one conducted by many in KREC to live like Howard Rowark ๐Ÿ˜€

8. Sameer Hejib - February 24, 2007

Good experiment.. Dare not try 5 years down the line ๐Ÿ™‚

9. raosharath - February 26, 2007

You have made a good point there Sameer..

….but then thats what everybody thought about DEC in 70s, IBM in 80s and Microsoft in the 90s. ๐Ÿ™‚ For reasons not so obvious, we tend to think that what we are witnessing is unprecedented…and for reasons equally inexplicable, we are (sometimes) given to think that the best days are behind us …romantic nostalgia.

10. Why the Google ban | Epistles - March 25, 2013

[…] in the comment to an earlier post says […]

11. Good sense related | Epistles - March 25, 2013

[…] exceptionsย  […]


Leave a Reply

