jump to navigation

Never weather weather whether weather weathers you or not ( And it does ! ) February 7, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in life.
trackback

My homepage has had this setting intermittently for over an year now.
-14 C with wind at 20 km/h makes it -24 C with wind chill. The high for today in Pittsburgh ( -11 C) was lower than the low for Bangalore ( 17 ) by 28 C. If Google provided Mangalore/Manipal weather, the difference would be even more tragic !

I dont know why I have this on my homepage all the time – no, not because I am some kinda masochist. ( Maybe in order to appreciate diversity πŸ˜‰ …duh…. But is it really that cold ? Not really, without the wind its not really a problem. Nevertheless, no matter how long you have stayed here and gotten acclamatized, you still dont feel like going out unless you had to – not even shopping for basic groceries if you dont have to. And people here stay informed about the forecasts ( extremely reliable ones). At any time, they can tell you the expected forecast for the next 3 days, especially so if thats a weekend. And the moment a snow/cold wave warning is released, the shopping malls experience a deluge of purchases as if its war time and we are all retiring to bunkers.

Well, in some sense we are. Except the fight for survival is against the weather. πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. Aswin Cletus D'Souza - February 7, 2007

interesting title sharath! though i think there’s something wrong there… I think you wanted to say Never whether whether weather weathers you or not..

Also, I googled ‘ Never whether’ and ‘whether’ is apparently never used the way we think it to be. I’m assuming you meant to say ‘Never *wonder* whether weather whethers you’. I could not find any reference where ‘whether’ was used to imply ‘wonder’. strange, really!

Interesting huh ? Maybe its just a desi usage we got used to

2. Sharath Rao - February 7, 2007

Uuh…I didnt get what you mean when you said –

“Never whether whether weather weathers you or not..”

When I said – ” “Never weather(1) weather(2) whether(3) weather(4) weathers(5) you or not ( And it does ! )”

weather(1) – meekily withstand sort of sense

weather(2) – the weather outside as in normal usage sense

whether(3) – the “whether or not” sense

weather(4) – same as weather(2)

weather(5) – “To discolor, disintegrate, wear, or otherwise affect adversely by exposure.” kinda sense

So my point was inspite of whether the weather outside is so bad as to kill you or not, you just dont sit there, and withstand it – fight it !

I started off saying weather(6) weather whether weather weathers you or not. where weather(6) was used in same sense as weather(5) in the above sentence. Then I tried to make it sound similar to the normal “never trouble ….” and reinterpret through another usage of the word “weather”.

I think its a case of a sentence that is grammatically/semantically near correct but pragmatically weird.

3. Sharath Rao - February 7, 2007

I cant think of a usage for “never whether” except perhaps in the sentence like :

My concerns are only about him getting here in time and never (about) whether he is taking the bus or flying in.

That sentence would be just okay without the word “about”.

Also I could not find if the word “whethers” exists. Looks like it doesnt.

So the alternative usages you mention would not express my sentiment. Or in other words, I didnt intend to say anything other than what I actually said :p.

You’ve been away man all this while…you removed some posts from your blog as well…was there something ( politically incorrect ) that your prospective employers would not like :p.

4. Aswin - February 8, 2007

Ahh… the weather(1) as in ‘weathered the storm’. Gotcha. :P.

There’s a usage of ‘whether’ like ‘bother/wonder’ which desis often use, myself included. It goes like this : ‘Don’t whether about it’ .. in fact I think my pop uses it. πŸ˜›

So I thought the first ‘weather’ was incorrectly meant to be ‘whether’. Aah forget it!

Yep, did a whole lot of cleaning up on my site for fears of being politically incorrect when prospective employers search my name. Blogging with your identity out there is walking such a fine line, especially when today’s world offers so many juicy controversial issues to talk about πŸ™‚

I’ve become so addicted to sepiamutiny, india uncut, bbcworld, daily mirror, ndtv ,yahoo and your blog that I’m seriously considering uninstalling IE/Firefox from my machine πŸ˜› . Much help not blogging did to me!

5. achala - February 8, 2007

Oh man! Never expected to find a grammar/vocab. lesson here…

I think I’ve had enough of weather/weather/whether to last me for some time now. πŸ™‚

6. Sharath Rao - February 8, 2007

Grammar lessons are like Sidhu’s pilfered similies and insipid metaphors, you must expect them in unexpected places. :).


Leave a Reply

