jump to navigation

Mumbai Mirror (mis)quotes me February 4, 2007

Posted by Sharath Rao in CMU, landmark-post, movies.
trackback

The day before during my blogging binge I wrote a scathing post titled “Ms. Rai and her many husbands” where I wrote about Ms. Aishwarya Rai’s new found tree marrying habit. Folks at the Mumbai Mirror found it amusing enough to mention and link to this post of mine.

Towards the end of my post, I wrote :

No, thats not all. The night before as I was taking the CMU college shuttle back home at 2:30 am, the driver was listening to a radio show where a ‘demonologist’ was being interviewed. Yeah, I don’t know if there is such a word, but yeah, as you guessed, he studies demons for a living.

I was trying to make the point that these superstitions aren’t the privilege of oriental cultures, one is as likely to find them in an ultra-religious country that I currently live in. Two things happened :

a) I got a mail from a reader ( of the paper apparently ) Mr. Lucio Mascarenhas who was kind enough to send me wikipedia links to the mention of the word “demonologist”. Thanks Mr. Mascarenhas for the pain you took to find the links and write to me, I really didnt care to look it up when I wrote the post.

b) Secondly, I notice that Mumbai Mirror has changed some of my words. It says :

No, that’s not all. The night before as I was taking the train back home from work at 2.30 am, the driver was listening to a radio show where a ‘demonologist’ was being interviewed.

Somebody out there at the Mirror doesn’t want me to remain a CMU student anymore – they would rather have me take the train to work. Just to offer a correction – I haven’t had a job ( or left school ) in the last 25 years. I turned 25 in Oct 2006.

[ Earlier this month, Shashi Tharoor in “The Hindu” quoted me right. ]

Comments»

1. To dr. or not to dr. « Epistles - February 15, 2007

[…] seek out a corporate position, I see obviously unsolicited suggestions coming from everywhere – people in the media first and now celebrity moms […]


Leave a Reply

