jump to navigation

What if Masala Puri were un-Hindu December 26, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in india, rant.
trackback

Okay, here is something.

A case was filed against former Test cricketer Ravi Shastri in a local court here for allegedly hurting the religious feelings of Hindus by reportedly eating beef during the India-South Africa Test match in Johannesburg.

So that hurt your feelings. And thats because something is wrong with Ravi Shastri. Is it not possible that its because something is wrong with you ?

The case doesnt quite worry me – I am a vegetarian ( ofcourse to the extent that egg is a vegetable). I get squeamish thinking about having to eat non-vegetarian food ( although sharing a table is certainly okay ). Why don’t I get squeamish about eggs ? I dont know. Would I quit eating tomatos if they were found to be non-vegetarian ? No. But if say, Hinduism, a religion I am born into, prohibited one of my favorite dishes – Masala Puri for example, I would probably a) eat more of it. b) talk about it. c) post pictures of it on this blog ; just to get the Bajrang Dal guys used to it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

