jump to navigation

Dear readers November 23, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in blogging.
trackback

Just noted that the previous post completes 200 posts on this blog. I went back to notice that the 100th post was up here exactly 2 months back. 7 months for the first 100 posts, 2 months for the next 100. I dont promise that this trend will continue for too long but lets see what happens.

I have wondered how many of them read this blog and how often and how extensively and if there are any regular readers who I havent met. I would suspect a rough count of 15 regular readers give or take 3. Sometimes I think it would be good to know, to get atleast a single ‘roll-call’ in the comments section to just see what the number is like and who you are. But then I guess the good thing about the internet is the anonymity it provides and if your anonymity wasnt as dear to you, then I would have known by now – either through a comment/mail or a mention in a casual conversation if we already know each other.

So far so good – its been non-commital – you make no commitment to come back to read and I make no commitment to keep posting. In theory therefore any post may turn out to be the last post on this blog just as any visit of yours could be the last. Its in some sense a marketplace for ideas in some sense.

For now though, there have been a staggering 13 posts in a single day !

Comments»

1. Deepak Krishnan - November 23, 2006

wish the indian batsmen could score as fast as you

2. RavZ - November 23, 2006

dont stop until blogspot forces u to, and if it does start another blog!! šŸ˜€

3. Aswin - November 23, 2006

dude, don’t you know about sitemeter.com ? you can add a sitemeter to your site very easily and get statistics not only about how many viewers you have per day, but even their location and service provider, how long they stayed at your site, what link they exited your site with.

for a stat freak like you, i think this counter could be your thanksgiving gift šŸ˜‰

4. gadiyar - November 23, 2006

You can add me to your roll call. Present sir. šŸ™‚

5. Sharath Rao - November 23, 2006

@deepak : you forgot to mention that they last long enough too ;P

@ravz : thanks for that one. Actually i am quite fedup of blogger …its got a whole lot of bugs or euphemistically ‘buggy features’. So i might end up shifting even if blogspot wants otherwise šŸ˜€

@aswin : on this blog i used performancing.com scripts to track …so get quite a bit of info. use statcounter.com on my cmu website which gives pretty much what u mentioned. let me check out sitemeter sometime.

@anand :

Oops, good to know. I counted you among my “stumbles-into-this-blog-once-a-while” reader rather “almost-cant-forget-to-read” types šŸ™‚

6. arjun - November 28, 2006

present saar ! šŸ™‚

7. Achala - November 29, 2006

Count me in as a ‘regular’. šŸ™‚

8. Sharath Rao - November 29, 2006

@arjun

Layman Arjun right ? šŸ™‚ How was the CAT man ? And you able to attend the reunion Dec 16-17th ??

@achala

Welcome !! The only Achala I knew so far was the actress ..famously from Waqt. ( if you are into old Hindi , you will remember the song I am (not) talking about !).

Or in the world of possibilities, do you have a friend by name Ashwini ?

9. Achala - November 30, 2006

I’m not all that into old hindi songs, but I do know the song you are (not) talking about. šŸ™‚

And yes, I do have a friend named Ashwini, who is responsible for directing me to this blog, and is well on her way to being a regular, if not one already.


Leave a Reply

