jump to navigation

Namesake trailer November 3, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in America, contemplation, india, movies.
trackback

This has never happened before.

I have never waited for a movie to release, being way too anxious to know how it would turn out to be. Better yet, its never happened that there is a book I read that I loved so much and now that I know its going to be made into a movie, I cant wait to watch it !

I read Namesake in Jan 2004 when I was in Boston, the one year I went to Boston University Graduate School. I read it at at time when I was just 4 months into this country and was myself grappling ( as I still sometimes do ) with issues of my past, my present and everybody’s future. The book itself was set in Boston and written by Boston University Alumna and Pulitzer Prize winner Jhumpa Lahiri. The streets and city squares she mentions in the book were those I took every week, if not every day – something that might be normal for NewYorkers but for me, that in itself made for a surreal experience.

Namesake is probably one of the less than 15 works of fiction I have ever read, and much of what I said above explains why it was the most endearing memorable of them all. Watch the trailer here – Irfan looks so real, Tabu’s performance snippets are arresting ! ‘Kal Penn’ rocks.

Rediff has a review up here. I previously wrote a post linking to Lahiri’s article ( read this if you havent ever ).

Comments»

1. Anonymous - November 3, 2006

Thanks for the link to the trailer. Looking fwd to watching it. Is it getting released next spring?
-Mangala

2. Random things today « Epistles - March 8, 2007

[…] Namesake releasing tomorrow. I haven’t waited so much for a movie […]


Leave a Reply

