jump to navigation

Stunned ! October 29, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in india, littlerockers, reminisces-1990s, sport.
trackback

I was so stunned by a recent statistic I just read that I left everything aside to pen this post down. This post comes with all the usual disclaimers, in other words – not for the faint hearted. If you have a weak heart, please dont read.

The last time India beat Australia chasing was on April 25th, 1998.

Yeah, that was the Coca Cola cup final – the match after the famous ‘sandstorm match’ ( entire match up here !). I saw that on Cricinfo a while ago but cant find the link :(.

Anyway, lets put that in perspective. In April 1998, I was just about to enter Class XII working towards my JEE exams. I hadnt sent my first email, ever gotten online. None of my classmates were married. My dad was working. India wasnt a nuclear power, Vajpayee was the prime minsiter. Saddam was around, Musharaff was not. The state of Chattisgarh didnt exist but Iraq did !

And finally, Tendulkar was as old when it last happened as old as I am today !!

( A somewhat less shocking statistic is that its been nearly 3 years since India beat Australia at all. It last happened on Jan 18, 2004 – I remember I watched the match at Sadiq’s house in Bangalore – was on the phone with my schoolmate Deepa and Rajaram simultaneously ! )

Lets see when this will be broken ! On a lighter note, I hope India keep losing to Australia chasing atleast until April 25th, 2008, the 10th anniversary ( and Tendulkar’s 35th birthday). 10 is a beautiful number – both in base 10 and base 2. đŸ˜‰

This raises a few questions – does this fact make that Tendulkar’s innings even more special ? Also does the Indian team itself know this ? Who would care though – only 2 people from that team of April 1998 are still around. Wait a minute – actually that must be reason the others should care isnt it. Because it also means that 9 out of 11 players have no idea what it means to successfully chase an Australian target !

Sigh.

Comments»

1. Game of unglorious certainities :-) « Epistles - October 6, 2007

[…] have posted on this before, and looking it up I realize I have written much the same […]


Leave a Reply

