jump to navigation

Good times, bad times October 14, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in CMU, littlerockers.
trackback

While I am getting struggling under the load of work, study and the usual things, a few good things in life.

Ganesh, my collegemate from KREC, pays me a compliment here. An IQ blog, he says. Well, I will take it !

And so does Angelo, the best known Little Rocker out there.

I cannot believe my last post was on July 29th; thats almost 2 months ago. I sometimes wonder, how the great Sharath Rao of LRIS fame manages to maintain several online diaries at once. I have a hard time keeping up with one. He is like St. Paul, writing letters to the Corinthians, the Carthagians and the rest of the world šŸ™‚ !

I promised to write to Mangala, batchmate-friend from Little Rock, on the question of “how do you find time to do so many things“. That was 2 months back. It appears I didnt find time to do that !

I am rephrasing that question to how does it appear as if you have time to do so many things. I promised Mangala yesterday that I would write a post about it. If I dont do that soon enough, I may be asked to write something on “how do you so shamelessly manage to break your promises“.

One-eighth of the weekend is already over. 2 mid-term exams and other equally daunting tasks staring at me. I really wonder how many of my married colleagues, dads and moms some of them, manage to do their masters/Ph.Ds, without their spouse seeking a divorce mid-way – some lessons in time management hidden there. When I read the acknowledgement sections of the PhD thesis, everyone of these mention the support they received from their spouses and kids. Not at all surprising.

That causes me to turn the question on its head. What is more commendable – going through a gruelling PhD program with the emotional and moral support of a spouse and joy of fatherhood/motherhood while still bearing the huge responsibility of having a family ? Or is it quite the other extreme – being that lonely, single, struggling, stressed-but-responsible-only-for-yourself warrior ?

I would think the former.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

