jump to navigation

This is ridiculous ! September 25, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in littlerockers, reminisces-1990s.
trackback

A poem from Vikram Seth that goes was supposed to be talking about himself.

Some men like Jack and some like Jill
I’m glad I like them both but still
I wonder if this freewheeling
Really is an enlightened thing,
Or is its greater scope a sign
Of deviance from some party line?
In the strict ranks of Gay and Straight
What is my status: Stray? Or Great?

That Seth is bisexual is apparently common knowledge for over 3 years now, only something I didnt know until I read this.

Okay, so what ?

Well, so nothing. It just reminds me of another serious lapse in my knowledge from another era. Until I was 15 , I had no idea that Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhosle were sisters. Beat that !

How then I wonder did my schoolmate Poornachandra and I win those several quiz contests ! Guess you can never know enough.

Comments»

1. aquarianalien - September 25, 2006

i was surprised when i found out about Ismail Merchant’s life partner( after Merchant’s untimely death in 2005 i think ) ..not that the personal life of celebrities is any of my business ….

2. aquarianalien - September 25, 2006

I think you can be forgiven for not knowing about the Mangeshkar sisters ..i mean they don’t even share the same surname … 😀

3. Sharath Rao - September 26, 2006

hehe….some consolation uuh…abt the sisters thing..


Leave a Reply

