jump to navigation

In another’s shoe July 24, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in humor, life.
trackback

Ramya sends me a link to this article.And that was in ‘response’ to this one I sent her.

What do I say ? My libertarian motivations instantly take over and suggest to me that people in the first of the above two articles have taken decisions in their interests with no coercion whatsoever and cause no harm to anyone else – so its perfectly okay.

And this has nothing to do with how I would behave in the same situation. I say this because a typical next question in a discussion/debate would generally be – “Cmon, dont tell me you would do the same in their situation.” What I would do is completely irrelevant – you have the right to ask, but not the right to know ! 🙂

This reminds me of Bernard Shaw’s quote that “Do not do unto others as you would that they should do unto you. Their tastes may not be the same.” Similarly, I believe that putting yourself in the shoes of the individual in a situation to determine what that individual should do is not always the best solution. I understand this is often the basis of much of advice that we give and receive among friends and family.

Nevertheless, it is good to bear caution and remind oneself of Bernard Shaw.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

