jump to navigation

Letter to Mankiw July 22, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in economics, landmark-post.
trackback

I have quoted/linked to Greg Mankiw ( here, here, here and here ) for quite a few times in this blog and several more times in my conversations with friends and a several more times in helping me assimilating things I read elsewhere. I could not finally resist writing to him today. I am posting my email to him here.

Hi Greg,

I am a graduate student at Carnegie Mellon studing Computer Science. I have been following this blog almost everyday for about 3 months now. I have no absolutely no formal Economics background ( though I am trained in computer science and statistics ) but nevertheless I find a majority of the posts quite comprehensible and I find myself quoting you very often in my conversations on these topics with friends and colleagues. The players in the comments section notably isocrates, mvpy, happyjuggler etc. are now household names ( atleast in my one-man household :)).

The above might be quite expected but what I discovered over time was just how much it has improved my understanding of this country, its challenges, its accomplishments and some of its more nagging problems. I am a native of India and I would not confess to having as much understanding of India’s problems – facts and figures, policy deliberations, policy failures etc. And this is after having lived in India for my first 23 years. I know of very few professors from elite Indian universities or from the government or private thinktanks who volunteer so much time and effort as you ( and other economics bloggers ) do.

Therefore, although its very unlikely that you counted among your readers too many of my kind when you started off (did you ?), you have been doing a great job not just as an ambassador for your profession, as is obvious, but one of you country.

Keep blogging, Greg !
– Sharath Rao

Comments»

1. Anonymous - July 24, 2006

Mankiw is wonderful. I’m glad you feel the same.

-Nathan, from Baltimore

2. Sharath Rao - July 24, 2006

You bet ! Nathan 🙂

3. Anonymous - August 8, 2006

Sharath!

Visit ccsindia.org
Indianeconomy.org

4. Sharath Rao - August 8, 2006

Hi Anon,

thanks..

Indianeconomy.org is on my blogroll and I am a regular there – atanu dey rocks !

ccindia.org too I came across as a link to all of gurcharan das’s articles…good site …

this post of mine has 2 other links on indian eco. matters –
http://sharathrao.blogspot.com/2006/06/oh-b-school-boys.html

one from ajay shah and wharton newsletter..


Leave a Reply

