jump to navigation

Abhishek Bachchan and the myth of meritocracy June 25, 2006

Posted by Sharath Rao in india, movies, rant.
trackback

Finally some article after a long time from Vir Sanghvi whose views I agree with – one about how not-so-meritocratic we as a society are. A really well-written one.

Reminds me of how Abhishek Bachchan can get away with more than 10 flops before he gets his first hit – I couldnt care less how big an actor he becomes – he will never be a self-made man as for example SRK is ( I am not a fan of his movies but lets give it to where he got to and from where ). It is not hard to imagine that any reasonably qualified actor with 10 chances with top directors can make it to where Abhishek Bachchan is today. Yes, its unfair perhaps that he has the weight of expectations of being his father’s son but then that makes a nice story isnt it – “The weight of my father’s expectations means that I have to get my father’s help to keep my career afloat ! “.

Oh ! would I hate to have my father babysit my career !

Get a life abhishek, you could have found something else to do for a living !

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

